What Not to Say to a CRPS Sufferer

Things like:

  • “Is what you have contagious?”
  • “Can’t you just get your leg amputated?” First of all, this would only make matters way worse than what they already are. Second of all, what an incredibly insensitive thing to say. We’re not talking about cutting my hair that can grow back . . . this is my leg. How would you feel if people always asked you can you just get your uterus removed because the period cramps hurt?
  • “Ugh! I’m in so much pain today! Stupid sinuses.” I’m not trying to sound like a cold-hearted, unsympathetic bitch, but please realize who you’re speaking to when you tell me how bad your back, your stubbed toe, or your stuffy nose hurts. At least you are dealing with a “trivial,” temporary pain. I feel chronic burning, crushing, stabbing, gnawing unbearable pain every day of my life, and I ache for a cure. If I could deal with a temporary pain, such as a stuffy nose, a stomach ache, etc., I would trade CRPS for that any day.
  • “You act like you’re the only one going through something.” Well, I’m not. Everyone has their own problems they have to deal with, but I am the only person in my personal circle that is dealing with this. The only one. You couldn’t possibly imagine how or what I’m truly feeling.
  • “You just have to try harder to walk.” I give it my all every single day. No one wants to go through/be like this. Believe me. It’s not just the pain causing me the inability to walk; my nervous system malfunctioned, which causes the nerves to constantly misfire. The nervous system is the most important system in the body as it deals with motor skills i.e. moving your legs, walking, using your hands, tying your shoes, speech, etc. This is why I cannot walk. My brain currently doesn’t even know how to use my leg, so I don’t want to hear I just need to “try harder.”
  • “You’re gonna be just fine. I know it.” I’m not currently fine, nor have I been for the past half year, so don’t give me false hope . . . and especially don’t “reassure” me that I’m gonna be fine when you’re not in my shoes.
  • “All you need to do is try this . . . . and you’ll be okay. It’ll totally work for you.” I have tried everything. What works for one person doesn’t always work for the next. This is incurable. Everything one tries is trial and error; and unfortunately, everything I have tried is nothing but error.

before-you-say-something-stop-and-think-how-youd-feel-if-someone-said-it-to-you-quote-1.jpg

Published by

CRPS Perseverer

I am fighting RSD/CRPS. I want to document the journey of my every day life, and spread awareness to others.

8 thoughts on “What Not to Say to a CRPS Sufferer”

  1. I have heard you look great, when I feel horrible with CRPS. I have heard the leg amputation 100 times. Even though it is in both my legs and back. You nailed this.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I hate a lot of the comments, but the leg amputation one bothers me probably the most. People will say things so nonchalantly like, “Can’t they just cut your leg off?” like it means nothing, or like it would solve the problem. Even if it would solve the problem, which it wouldn’t, I don’t want my leg amputated. Who would?? Especially since I only turn 27 next month. I don’t even understand how people can ask someone questions like that.

      I currently am going to (physical) rehab, and they always say, “Did you do anything fun this weekend?” Certain repetitive questions like that just bug me. I haven’t been able to do anything “fun” in a long time. I also have it in my legs and back, and it has felt for sometime as if it’s spreading to my hands.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tge leg one bothers me too. It use to be one leg that bothered me now it is both and when people suggest it they say it like it is the same as taking Tylenol gor a headache it baffles me. My doctor always said it will spread to the other leg and if he did amputate since I been in pain so long I would have phantom pain or a good chance. Also, you are right that is exactly how they say it..Can’t they just cut your leg off. Since I staryed writing about my life I know just give people a buisness card I made and when strangers or friends ask I just hand it to them and say once you read all of my entries then you can leave a comment if you want. Mine started at 32 and I am 40 now and it is still getting worse and I admit it tool a very long time but I finally have doctors I like who have real expectations. Good luck to you and yes keep your legs. I also asked a lot of people who had amputations and only one recommended it but his was a necessary one due to infection. You will grow a tough skin but there will always be things that bothers you and that is ok.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I have the joy of having it widespread from lack of treatment for too long and I think the one that bugs me the most is “can’t you just suck it up?” “Um, let me ask you what you would want them to do for you if you woke up everyday feeling like a truck ran over you in your sleep and crushed most of the bones in your body? Think you would be able to just suck it up or would you want to go to the ER and get treated?” Problem is, once I get there I’m going to get told I just need to exercise more (I am plenty active even with CRPS) and meditate more.

    Like

    1. Ugh. The comments are the worst . . . especially the ones like “just suck it up.” I’m sorry you’ve been told that. I actually haven’t gotten that one yet, but I’ve had similar comments like “You act like you’re the only one going through something,” or “It could be worse.” People honestly have no idea.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment